Album Review: Hail the Sun “Mental Knife”

Words by Spencer Prather Hail the Sun (lead vocalist/drummer Donovan Malero, guitarists Shane Gann and Arin Garcia, and bassist John Stirrat) is one of the most exciting and talented modern acts to be watching in the heavy music scene right now. Putting their own unique take on the 2000s post-hardcore Continue Reading

EP Review: Third Eye Blind “Thanks For Everything”

Review by Spencer Prather One cannot hold a conversation about pop rock without mentioning household names Third Eye Blind (current lineup being vocalist/guitarist Stephan Jenkins, drummer Brad Hargreaves, guitarist Kryz Reid, keyboardist Alex Kopp and bassist Alex LeCavalier). Their 1997 self-titled debut album skyrocketed them to success, boasting widely-known singles Continue Reading

Album Review: With Confidence “Love and Loathing”

Review by Spencer Prather Australian pop punk outfit With Confidence (vocalist/bassist Jayden Seeley, guitarist Inigo Del Carmen, and drummer Joshua Brozzesi) have returned from a brief respite from touring with not only a spot on the 2018 Vans Warped Tour, but with a brand new 12-track album Love and Loathing. Continue Reading

Album Review: Makari “Hyperreal”

Review by Spencer Prather With their first full-length LP “Hyperreal”, Orlando rock outfit Makari (vocalist Andy Cizek, guitarists Eric Stewart and Matt Beljan, bassist John Tomasso and drummer Kevin Beljan) have created for listeners an ethereal 10 tracks of prog rock, establishing themselves as one of the most exciting bands Continue Reading

Album Review: Earth Groans “Rahab”

Review by Spencer Prather Earth Groans (vocalist Jeremy Schaeffer, guitarist Zachariah Mayfield, bassist Kayden Burton, and drummer Brady Mueller)  is quickly becoming one of modern metal’s diamonds in the rough; their chaotic brand of metal draws from hardcore, metalcore, deathcore and every aggressive, off-kilter feature between them, making for a Continue Reading

Album Review: The Nectars’ Sci-Fi Television

Words by Spencer Prather Alternative rock has been seeing many a band that push the envelope and make their own distinct sound nowadays. With their debut album Sci-Fi Television, New Jersey outfit The Nectars (lead vocalist Jess Kenny, guitarist Mike Baron, bassist Jon Paul, and drummer Mike Montalbano) have joined Continue Reading